The Legend of Zelda: Twilight Princess for Wii – Adulthood memories

The Legend of Zelda: Twilight Princess for Wii – Adulthood memories
Twilight Princess Cover Art

Twilight Princess Cover Art

The first Legend of Zelda game I ever played was Link’s Awakening on the Nintendo Game Boy when I was about ten years old. I remember loving the game, but being unbelievably awful at it. I used to ask this pretty girl in my class called Corrin how to advance whenever I got stuck, and I got stuck a lot. She claimed to have beaten the entire game in a five hour flight to the United States, something that still seems impossible to me to this day, and yet she did seem to have all of the answers that I needed. I didn’t play another Zelda game for the next ten years or so as I only owned Sony consoles. But when I received a Nintendo Wii, I knew straight away that there was one game in particular that I would need to play. That game was Twilight Princess. Apparently, not much has changed since I was ten years old as I still managed to get stuck, a lot. Except that now instead of asking a pretty girl how to get past something, I turned to the internet (the story of my life).

Even though Twilight Princess is incredibly more advanced than Link’s Awakening, there was so much that was familiar to me. Mainly it was the feeling of bewilderment at the scope and complexity of the game that I was playing, but there was also the humour and warmth of the NPCs and of course the kick-ass weapons. I felt exactly the same compulsion to find out how to get past obstacles that mysteriously blocked my way, and to find those ever-elusive heart fragments. It honestly felt like seeing an old friend again, except now they were grown up and had a whole bunch of new and exciting stuff to show me.

Visually, Twilight Princess is a world away from the 8-bit Link's Awakening

Visually, Twilight Princess is a world away from the 8-bit Link’s Awakening

From the very start it felt as if the Wii was the natural habitat for a Zelda game. For a series of games that are designed – more so than others – to put you in the shoes of the hero, what could be more natural than letting you swing the sword or aim the bow yourself and in real-time. Link doesn’t talk, he doesn’t question whatever it is that he has to do, and you can even give him your own name should you wish to do so. On console games, the distance between player and protagonist rarely gets closer, and with the Wii’s interface that gap got even smaller. I move my arm and the baddie on my TV screen gets it in the neck, surely this is what they were aiming for when the very first video game was launched.

The Legend of Zelda series may not be the most innovative when it comes to characterization or story lines, but when it comes to gameplay it is one of the most innovative. How many times has Link saved Zelda now? And yet, each time there is something new and wonderful to discover. A lot of games have expansive worlds with realer-than-real graphics, and that’s fine, but Zelda games make do beautifully with a small world jam-packed with things to do that you want to keep returning to, interacting with and exploring all over again. Towards the end of Twilight Princess you discover a hidden village. The hidden village is a wild-west style shanty town, and your job is to clear it out before being killed. It is easily one of the most fun things to do in this game, or any other come to think of it. The entrance to the hidden village is behind a boulder that you walk and ride past at least twenty times, never once suspecting that there may be an entire village behind it. This is what I am talking about with the Zelda series, no matter which game you play, they will always be something new and exciting for you to discover.

Kind regards,

Lefthumbstick

34 thoughts on “The Legend of Zelda: Twilight Princess for Wii – Adulthood memories

  1. I played the Legend of Zelda when I was a kid too. And I still do. Twilight Princess is one LOZ game I have not played. And since my Wii is broken at the moment and I don’t have a Gamecube, I probably won’t play it for a long time. You’re not the only one you got stuck a lot in Link’s Awakening, only I didn’t really know about the Internet back then, and the only one I knew who played it too was my sister and she hadn’t finished the game either, so yeah.

    • How did your Wii break? I thought they were indestructible!
      Did you ever find the cheat on Link’s Awakening that let you leap to the other side of the screen when it rolled over? I think you had to press select. It made the second play through a whole lot easier.
      Which is your favourite Zelda game by the way?

      • I’m not really sure how it got messed up. I think something happened to either the video card or the graphic card. It turns on, but nothing shows up on the screen and the remotes turn on but don’t work.

        I’ve never heard of that cheat, I’ll have to try it sometime. Did you ever steal from the shop? I did, and then I felt so bad about it that I restarted my file.

        It’s hard to pick a favorite. I guess it would be Oracle of Seasons, I used to spend hours just riding Dimitri and chomping things. Which one is your favourite?

        Have you ever played any of the Super Smash Bros. games?

        By the way, you have no idea how happy you made me be replying. Your reply is the first one I’ve gotten on WordPress.

      • Are you kidding, I should be thanking you for commenting. The whole reason why I started this blog was to talk about old video games with people. I’m looking forward to reading some of your stuff.

        I can’t remember whether I stole or not, it was quite a while ago. But I tend to play games really morally, so if I had stole I probably would have done the same thing.

        I’ve only ever actually played two Zelda games, but I plan to play many more now. Of the two that I’ve played Twilight Princess has to be my favourite, as I actually felt like Link a lot of the time.

        I have never played Super Smash Bros. until quite recently I was always a Playstation kind of guy.

  2. Thanks. Now I just have to figure out what direction I want to take my posts in. I haven’t figured out if I want to do review type things, or just put what I think of whatever I’m posting about with what I know about it.

    I play games pretty morally too. If you steal from the shop you instantly get killed when you go back in, and everyone calls you a thief, which is what wreaked my conscience.

    You should try Wind Waker, or Majora’s mask, if you can. Wind Waker may look cartoony, but it’s really a pretty good game. And actually Twilight Princess was originally going to be a sequel to Wind Waker, until Nintendo found out that WW didn’t sell very well in the U.S.A. and they changed it.

    SSB is pretty fun, even more so if you have someone to play it with. It doesn’t have much story though, but that just means there’s a lot more room to just come up with a story as you go, if you want to.

    • Oh really, I never knew that. Did any of the games in the series end up as direct sequels? That would be quite interesting to play.

      I see that on the Wii’s virtual console they have both Majora’s Mask and Ocarina of Time. It seems as though opinion is pretty divided as to which is the better game. Have you played them both?

      As for your blog, I’m not really in any position to give advice, but I would say to go with what you feel most comfortable with. I think it’s a good idea to just forge ahead and then let the direction appear naturally. Having said that, I don’t think I’ve found mine yet, so what do I know.

      Good luck with it anyhow.

      • I’m not entirely sure about the direct sequels thing. I think Skyward Sword is supposed to take place before Twilight Princess, but again, I don’t know for sure. I do know that Majora’s Mask is a sequel to Ocarina of Time, though.

        Yes, I have played both Majora’s Mask and Ocarina of Time. I think Majora’s Mask is better, but that’s just me. It’s a close call though, because Ocarina of Time was the first LOZ game I ever played. Majora’s Mask has more stuff you can do after you beat the main storyline, because of its many side-quests. Ocarina of Time is a little more straight forward, but has a longer storyline. So it really depends on which type of game you like more.

        I think I’ve decided on the direction of my blog, for now. And I’ve actually got another post put up, if you want to check it out. I still don’t know how often I want to try to update though, could be everyday, could be once a week, I don’t know yet.

        And I probably won’t ever be as good at review type things as you, but I will try. Good luck with your blog too.

      • Hey, come on you can’t mean that, you clearly know a lot more about video games then I do. And that was great advice, I’m hopefully going to play both those games, so now I know which to play first!

        I’ll check out your post.

  3. I get most of my Video Game facts from “didyouknowgaming.com”, and “VGfacts.com”. There’s a lot of video game trivia on those sites. For example, the first Legend of Zelda game was supposed to take place in the past, present, and future. And since the hero was the link between these times, Nintendo decided to name him “Link”. I’m pretty sure in the end, though, they didn’t have enough memory space to do that so they changed it slightly. There is a theory that Nintendo also wanted to revisit that idea in A Link to the Past and Ocarina of Time, but they couldn’t get in exactly what they wanted.

    Thanks for checking out my post!

  4. Well, if you don’t scare easily, there isn’t really a whole lot of creepy things. But sometimes there are creepy images hidden within games that are either a certain type of hidden Easter Egg, or were used for testing. Some people find quite a few things to be creepy, I’m not one of those people, but I figured I’d better warn you for just in case. On the plus side, these websites also contain some articles about stuff left in the game data that don’t actually appear in the finished game or facts about the game’s development, which is what really interests me because I plan on being a game developer someday.

    And I really hope I’m not annoying you with all my comments. Am I annoying you? Please be honest in your answer. Don’t worry, I won’t get offended if you want me to comment less.

    One more quick question, which Legend of Zelda game did you decide on? I feel like I should probably be able to figure that out by your comment, but I can’t.

    • Of course you’re not annoying me! If anyone reads the comment section of my post they might be a bit weirded out, but I don’t mind at all.

      I plan on playing Ocarina of Time next, I just got a classic controller for the wii yesterday, so I’m good to go.

      • Phew, I’m glad I’m not annoying you. And I’ve been meaning to ask you, how do you put the text right under your pictures? I tried to do that, but I don’t know how.

        Where did you find a classic controller at? I don’t think I’ve ever seen one in stores.

        This is probably a dumb question, but have you ever played any Sonic the Hedgehog games?

      • Oh, if you go into media library, and choose the edit option for the image you want to write under, there is a box for you to write a caption into. Is that what you meant?

        I got the classic controller from a trade in shop called CEX. I’m from England, I don’t know what country you’re from, you probably wont have that shop. But you can get them off amazon. I think you can use it for some Wii games too, like Xenoblade Chronicles and Monster Hunter.

        I had a Sonic game on the Sega Master System II when I was a kid, and more recently I got Sonic CD for iOS. They’re fun to play and all, but I prefer games with more storyline than that. I liked the cartoons more than the games. Why do you ask?

        I checked those sites out. I preferred VGfacts to didyouknowgaming, because I found the layout of didyouknowgaming kind of annoying, but they were both pretty cool. It was kind of like IMDB for games. So thanks, I never would have known about them otherwise.

  5. The fact that you are British automatically makes you awesome. I mean you were already awesome, but that just adds to it. The only way you could possibly be more awesome is if you have ever visited Japan.

    Yes, that was what I meant. I tried editing the picture, but it wouldn’t let me type anything.

    I’ve never heard of CEX. So I guess that means there isn’t one around here. Now that I think about it though, I guess there wouldn’t really be a point in me getting a classic controller, because my Wii is messed up and I plan on getting a Wii U instead of another Wii.

    I was just wondering if you had played any of them. I prefer the cartoons more than the games too.

    Your welcome. Didyouknowgaming has videos on Youtube that contain some of the facts on their website, if you want to check them out. What is IMDB?

    I have another post on my blog, by the way. Do you want me to keep telling you when I put up a new post, or do you check on your own?

    • I saw your post, it’s good, I see you managed to get the captions sorted. I’ve followed your blog, so any new posts just show up on the reader, so you don’t have to let me know. Thanks though. I really like the icon you’ve made.

      Imdb is international movie database or something like that. It’s a website that has good trivia sections on films.

      Unfortunately I haven’t been to Japan yet, emphasis on the yet. I’ve started saving for a trip there though. I want to see the country where so many films, books, tv shows and, of course, video games that I love have come from.

      • Alright! The awesome guy is following my blog! Thank you so much!

        Is there a website? And if there is, does it have the same name or something different?

        You read manga and watch anime?! I guess I was wrong, there was more than one way you could be more awesome. By the way, I don’t know if you’d be interested or not, but there’s a Megaman Battle Network anime.

      • Oh come on, you’re going to make me blush!

        Yeah, the URL is just imdb.com, they have an app too which is pretty good.

        I don’t read any manga, sorry to disappoint. When I said books I pretty much meant Murakami. I haven’t seen all that much anime either outside of the standard Dragonball Z, Miyazaki films and other cartoons from my childhood like the Moomins.
        I did see Darker Than Black though and thought it was really good. Did you ever see that one?

  6. I’ll have to check that website out sometime. It sounds pretty interesting.

    Don’t worry, I’m not disappointed. Your still awesome. I’ve never really heard of that one, what’s it about? And, if you ever get into manga, there are Legend of Zelda manga books that are pretty good.

    Just out of curiosity, have you ever heard of a video game series called Professor Layton?

    • Have you read any yourself? Does Link actually talk in it? That must be weird.

      Nope, I’ve never played any of those kind of games, but I think I would like to. Have you played Phoenix Wright? Which is better?

      • Yes, I’ve read all the Legend of Zelda mangas, if that’s what you’re asking. Link does talk in them, but it’s not weird at all. The manga artists do a really good job keeping Link in character, in my opinion anyway.

        I haven’t actually played any Phoenix Wright games, but I have watched a walkthrough of the first one, and I’m working on watching a walkthrough of the second game in the series. There’s actually going to be a cross-over game featuring Professor Layton and Phoenix Wright. It looks like it’s going to be awesome. Personally, I think Professor Layton is better. You’d probably like Phoenix Wright more though, because it has a bunch of different story lines, and Professor Layton only has one storyline. Then again, the Professor Layton story lines have more plot twists, whereas Phoenix Wright is more like your typical cops and robbers game, the only difference being Phoenix is a lawyer and not a cop. Professor Layton also involves crime solving stuff, however, Layton isn’t related to the law at all, because he’s a collage professor.

  7. Hey, if it’s not too much to ask, do you think you could try to comment on some of my posts? I update every other day and it’s nice to know that people actually read my blog. If you can’t that’s fine, I understand. I hope I don’t seem like one of those people who beg for attention, but if you don’t ask, you don’t know.

  8. I am absolutely terrible at the 3D Zelda games, but I agree that this game was made for the Wii Remote–nothing makes you feel like the Hero quite like bashing baddies with a swing!

    Have you tried the newest LOZ for the 3DS? As Awakenings was your first, I would love to hear your take on a game that tries (and in my opinion, succeeds) to bring that style of gameplay back.

    • Hey thanks!

      I always thought that a fully fledged console version of Pokemon would also suit the visceral controls of the Wii, but alas, we never got that.

      Unfortunately I don’t own a 3DS, so I probably won’t play that game for years. Is it a lot different to the other 2D titles then? Do the handheld games in between play differently from Link’s Awakening and A Link Between Worlds? Sorry, for not understanding.
      I’ve played some of the Minish Cap and it didn’t seem quite as grown up as Link’s Awakening, is that what you mean?

      • Aside from the Oracle series, the most recent Zelda games on DS have been related to Wind Waker, in both art style and gameplay. The new game returns to the more straightforward older games, where you walk from screen to screen on foot without boats or trains or whatnot (with the added mechanic of becoming a painting on a wall which is SO COOL).

        It isn’t specifically more grown up, but it plays and feels much more like a classic LOZ game. I recommend it if you get the chance!

      • Oh right, now I see. Thanks very much.

        It seems that all the Zelda games after a certain point have some kind of ‘gimmick’ – although I’m not sure I’m using the right word, as that has negative connotations – like shrinking, turning into a wolf, being a train driver or becoming a painting.

        I guess they’ve got to keep it new though, no one wants to pay for the same game over and over again.

  9. I have a question, how did you get that little “Daily Bytes” section thing? I want to do something similar for my blog (only with movies that I’ve watched instead of video games that I’ve played), and I don’t really know how.

  10. Thank you! I have the page set up now, it was a lot easier than I thought it would be. I think I’m going to set one up for anime too.

    I watch action and adventure, super hero, sci-fi, and animated movies. You know, like, Wreck-it-Ralph, Avengers, Escape from Planet Earth, and How to Train Your Dragon. What kind of movies do you watch?

  11. Pingback: Dark Attuned › LoZ: Twilight Princess Fanfiction » Theodore Covey

Leave a Reply

